John Hiatt to Receive Lifetime Achievement Award

The Americana Music Association has announced that it will be presenting its 2008 Lifetime Achievement Award for Songwriting to John Hiatt. The AMA’s 7th annual honors and awards show will be held on September 18 at the Ryman Auditorium. The two hour awards show will be broadcast live on XM Satellite Radio.

Hiatt’s songs have been recorded by Bob Dylan, Eric Clapton, B.B. King, Bonnie Raitt, Buddy Guy, Emmy Lou Harris, Iggy Pop, The Neville Brothers, Roseaane Cash, Steve Earle, Willie Nelson and the Jeff Healey Band. He has also made numerous recordings under his own name and will be releasing a new CD in May, “Same Old Man.”

Previous recipients of the AMA’s Lifetime Achievement Award for Songwriting have included:

  • Willie Nelson
  • Rodney Crowell
  • Guy Clark
  • John Prine
  • and Billy Joe Shaver.

Leave a Reply